Fri, 17 Jul 2020

West Indies choose to bat in final India ODI

15 Aug 2019, 04:13 GMT+10

Port of Spain - West Indies captain Jason Holder won the toss and chose to bat first against India in Wednesday's third and final One-Day International of their series, at the Queen's Park Oval in Trinidad.

India hold an unassailable 1-0 lead following the a 59-run win via the DLS method in the second ODI at the same venue on Sunday, as rain forced the abandonment of the first match in Guyana as a no-result last week.

Virat Kohli's team has just one change from the game three days ago with an exchange of wrist-spinners as right-armer Yuzvendra Chahal replaces left-armer Kuldeep Yadav, who claimed the vital wickets of Shimron Hetmyer and top scorer Evin Lewis in the second ODI.

West Indies have opted to omit two of their pacers -- Sheldon Cottrell and Oshane Thomas -- in preference for all-rounder Keemo Paul and left-arm spinner Fabian Allen.


West Indies: Jason Holder (captain), Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope (wicketkeeper), Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, Carlos Brathwaite, Keemo Paul, Fabian Allen, Kemar Roach.

India: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Shreyas Iyer, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Khaleel Ahmed.

Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite (BAR), Nigel Llong (ENG)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

More Salt Lake City News

Access More

Sign up for Salt Lake City News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!