Wed, 07 Jun 2023

Indiana's Teri Moren wins AP women's Coach of Year

Field Level Media
31 Mar 2023, 04:19 GMT+10

Indiana's Teri Moren was named the Associated Press women's basketball Coach of the Year on Thursday.

The first-time winner guided the Hoosiers to their first Big Ten regular season championship in 40 years.

Moren received 12 votes from the 28-member national media panel, followed by South Carolina's Dawn Staley (eight votes), Utah's Lynne Roberts (five) and Virginia Tech's Kenny Brooks (three).

"I think a lot of people were like this is going to be a year where Indiana is reloading, rebuilding, they won't be as good as they had been the year prior," Moren said. "We were picked third in the Big Ten."

Indiana, which climbed to as high as No. 2 in the AP poll this season, finished 28-4 after earning a No. 1 seed in the Women's NCAA Tournament. The Hoosiers lost to Miami, 70-68, in the second round on March 20.

Moren, 53, has compiled a 200-93 record since taking over in Bloomington in 2014.

--Field Level Media

Sign up for Salt Lake City News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!